There are changes coming for the Aged Care Complaints Scheme (the Scheme).

There are changes coming for the Aged Care Complaints Scheme (the Scheme).

Following the transfer of responsibility for administration of the Aged Care Act 1997 (the Act) to the Minister for Health, the Scheme transitioned to the Department of Health in early November 2015.

More changes will be coming in the new year when responsibility for managing aged care complaints transfers to the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner from 1 January 2016. This 2015 Budget measure is aimed at increasing the independence of aged care complaints which will result in the separation of complaints handling from the department’s policy and funding roles which reflects best practice.

This blog post is for aged care providers, care recipients or anyone seeking to understand how these changes to the Scheme will affect them.

What does this mean operationally for aged care complaints?

Complaints will essentially be managed in the same way, by the same staff. Until 31 December 2015, they will be managed by the Department of Health. From 1 January 2016, they will be managed independently by the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner.

Can I still contact the Scheme if I have a concern or an aged care complaint query?

Yes. Our contact details remain the same. If you have a concern or query you can raise it with the Scheme via the same options, including lodging an online complaint or by calling us on 1800 550 552. From 1 January 2016, this will still be the number to call to raise a concern.

Are the Scheme’s online and printed resources that show the old department’s name still accurate?

Yes. The only change is that we now refer to the Department of Health where we previously referred to the Department of Social Services.

You can find Scheme fact sheets, posters and videos on the Resources page.

Service providers can also access complaint handling guidance, posters and interactive learning exercises from the better practice complaint handling toolkit.

Please note we’re updating some of our resources. While these publications are being finalised, you can still access this information via the same links on our Resources page on the website.

Where do I find information about the new Aged Care Complaints Commissioner after 1 January 2016?

Check back on this website after 1 January 2016 for links to the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner’s website. If you would like to subscribe to this website to receive all the latest news and information we will have all the information here to assist you to set up your subscription to the Aged Care Complaints Commissioner’s website as well as links to the website. The Aged Care Complaints Commissioner’s website will have updated resources available from 1 January 2016.